Here’s Why I’m Going to the Gym for the Rest of My Life… and Why You Should, Too

Neil Kollipara
5 min readFeb 24, 2024
I’m 33 years old and I’ll be going to the gym for the rest of my life.

Many guys I know started in the gym when they were 17 or 18 years old.

I didn’t start going consistently until I was 29.

A late start.

But as the saying goes, “Better late than never.”

And I agree with that saying. I’m glad I started hitting the gym at 29 rather than at 39.

Now, as I approach five years in the gym, I can identify at least five reasons why I’ll always go to the gym… and why you should, too.

First, I like the results.

Much of my time in the gym has been focused on building muscle.

I couldn’t tell you exactly how much muscle I’ve put on, but it has to be somewhere in the range of 10 to 20 pounds.

Working out makes me feel good — not just the process, but also the results.

The process itself can be fun, but it can also be challenging. There are days when I don’t feel like lifting. I mean, everything worth doing in life is oftentimes met with resistance, right?

Lifting is no exception.

There’s a guy I know at my gym. His name’s Mike. He’s 67 years old and looks like he’s about 40. He’s been lifting for…

--

--

Neil Kollipara

Articles about self-improvement and simple living. I write a newsletter called Creator Chronicles. Check out all my stuff at www.neilkollipara.com